[University home]

NOVARS Research Centre for Electroacoustic Composition, Performance and Sound-Art

Haruka Hirayama

Haruka Hirayama

Pictured above Haruka Hirayama


Haruka Hirayama (b. Niigata, Japan) is a music composer. She studied composition and computer music with Cort Lippe and Takayuki Rai, and received a BA (Sonology, 2004) and MA (Sonology, 2006) from Kunitachi College of Music in Tokyo.

Recent featured pieces and awards: Swallow for soprano saxophone and live electronics was awarded the Residence Prize at the 32nd International Competition of Electroacoustic Music and Sonic Art (Bourges, France, 2005) and invited to the Institute for Electroacoustic Music in Sweden (EMS) as a composer-in-residence (2006). Tints of July for flute, guitar and live electronics was awarded the Pauline Oliverous Prize at the International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM) competition (US, 2012).

International performances: Her works also have been performed at many international festivals and conferences such as International Computer Music Conference (ICMC; 2005, 2006, 2009 and 2013), INTER/actions: Symposium on Interactive Electronic Music (UK, 2012), The International Festival for Innovations in Music Production & Composition (iFIMPaC; UK, 2012), Australasian Computer Music Conference (ACMC; Australia, 2012), Seoul International Computer Music Festival (SICMF; South Korea, 2013), Black on White Festival (Manchester, 2013).

She is also very keen to work in collaboration with performers and creators, and has worked with many artists including commissions.

Since 2011, she has been a PhD student in Electroacoustic composition at the NOVARS Research Centre under the supervision of Dr Ricardo Climent.

Research interest
Multimedia works, interactive pieces for instruments and computers and electroacoustic works.

Email: Haruka.Hirayama [AT] student.manchester.ac.uk